Tuesday, August 8, 2006

The present Mindanao State University in Buug metamorphosed from the self-liquidating community high school established by MSU in 1971, was subsidized from 1974 to 1975, and absorbed as a full-fledged unit of MSU in 1976 by virtue of BOR Resolution No. 1030. It was elevated into a collegiate level, hence renamed as MSU-Buug College in 1982, and authorized to offer general courses by virtue of BOR Resolution Nos. 492 and 492-B, respectively. It was subsequently authorized to offer complete courses in Agriculture, Forestry, Education, and Liberal Arts through BOR Resolution No. 55, series of 1989. Despite its elevation into a collegiate unit, MSU-Buug has been operating under its budget as high school entity and the College has not been properly supervised and taken cared by the Marawi Campus since it was placed under the direct supervision of the Office of the Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, the rules and policies of which are appropriate for high school units only. In 2002, by virtue of Special Order No.581-OP, MSU-Buug was revitalized by the modification of its structure, which subsequently transferred the supervision of the Unit to the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs. MSU-Buug is now one of the Colleges of MSU-Marawi, and as such, it is headed by a Director/Dean. Since 1982, The Unit worked hard for attaining fiscal autonomy, and several bills were filed to this effect, but unfortunately, all these bills remained not acted and relegated to the recesses of the archives. The bid for fiscal autonomy remains an elusive dream. Today, MSU-Buug has gained new lights of hope for development. With the assumption of Dr. Ricardo F. De Leon as University President and the subsequent appointment of Sultan Taha Guro Sarip, MPD as new director of the Unit on August 7, 2006, MSU-Buug has obtained a new image, a hallmark of growth and change. On October 28, 2006, that is, barely 82 days after the Sultan’s assumption into office, with the sincere commitment and support of the president towards the transformation of MSU-Buug, the Institute for Peace and Development in Mindanao, the Misamis Occidental-Zamboanga Peninsula Academic Growth Corridor and the Graduate School and Extension Programs were launched. With this new development, the College is recently supervising programs in the municipalities of Titay and Kabasalan, both of Zamboanga Sibugay and Tabina, Zamboanga del Sur. Along with these programs, the Unit will be launching also the College of Nursing in June 2007 as an extension of the College of Health Sciences of the Mindanao State University Main Campus. As a new director, Prof. Sarip has started reforms in the MSU-Buug both physically and academically and emphasized on “good governance” as his administration’s thrust. He stressed that, with the support of the president and the unified efforts of the students, faculty, staff, alumni, local government leaders, the people in the community and other stakeholders as a strong solid TEAM, we shall see MSU-BUUG soon to prosper and become a great institution.


College of Agriculture
Bachelor of Science in Agriculture major in Agronomy
Diploma in Agriculture Technology

College of Education
Bachelor of Elementary Education
Bachelor Secondary Education major in Biology
Bachelor Secondary Education major in English
Bachelor Secondary Education major in Filipino
Bachelor Secondary Education major in Mathematics

College of Forestry
Bachelor Science in Forestry major in Agro-Forestry
Forest Ranger Certificate

College of Social Sciences
Bachelor of Arts in English
Bachelor of Arts in Filipino
Bachelor of Science in Hotel and Restaurant Management
Bachelor of Science in Information Technology
Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Pre-University Program

Graduate School
Master of Arts in Education major in School Administration
Master of Arts in Peace and Development Education

High School
Integrated Laboratory School

Alicia Extension, Zamboanga Sibugay
Bachelor of Science in Fisheries
Diploma in Fisheries Technology

Ipil Extension, Zamboanga Sibugay
Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Tabina Extension, Zamboanga del Sur
Bachelor of Science in Agriculture
Bachelor of Science in Computer Science
Bachelor of Science in Fisheries
Bachelor in Science in Hotel and Restaurant Management
Pre-University Program


Asst. Director - PROF. PEDRO H. CAONG
Unit Secretary/Personnel Officer - PROF. MARLENE P. SIARON
Technical Asst., Office of the Director - MRS. JOSEPHINE S. DUYAGUIT
Coordinator, Administration & Finance - MR. ANGELITO A. RENDIZA
Coordinator, Planning, Research & Extension - PROF. IBRAHIM F. AMPUAN
Coordinator, Physical Plant - MR. DANILO A. MONTERO
Unit Property & Supply Officer - PROF. LEONILA J. SOMOSA
In-charge, Health Services - MRS. NORAIDA S. LOMANGCO
Liaison Officer - MR. BASHIER S. DUCOL

Head, Academic Instruction - PROF. PEDRO H. CAONG
Coordinator, Graduate Studies - DR. AMINA DOMATO- SARIP
Secretary, Graduate Studies - MS. JAMEYLA T. AMPUAN
Technical Asst., Graduate Studies - PROF. WILMA F. SIBALA
Chairman, Agriculture Department - ENGR. ELY O. MAGHANOY
Chairman, Education Department - PROF. BEECHER G. SOLIS
Chairman, Forestry Department - FOR. LORETO P. MERQUILLO
Chairman, Arts & Sciences - PROF. ROSITA D. MENDIJA
Principal, Laboratory High School - PROF. ABUSAMA Y. SALIPADA
Asst. Principal, Laboratory High School - MRS. MAGDALENA B. MASONG
Coordinator, MSU Alicia - MRS. MAGDALENA B. MASONG
Coordinator, MSU-BC Tabina Extension - PROF. EDWIN MITUDA

College Registrar - PROF. EDNA P. ENGAÑO
High School Registrar - MR. MANUEL P. SIARON, JR.
Coordinator, Student Services &
Guidance Counselor -PROF. BEECHER G. SOLIS
Unit Librarian - MRS. JEANETTE M. BACANG
Coordinator, Information Technology - MR. RONALD P. BASE
Officer-in-charge, Alumni Relations Office - MR. JETHER P. SUMPO
Coordinator, Peace Education - PROF. RUTH D. MIRAFUENTES
Coordinator, Peace Research - PROF. MILDRED B. MASONG
Coordinator, Peace Action - PROF. MAGDALENA B. MASONG
Special Assistant - MR. BRYAN S. DOMATO